6 Years, 3 houses, 1 family

Today is our wedding anniversary.  Six years ago, Bill & I literally had a wedding of superheroes.  You can read about it at length here.  When I met Bill there was a chain of events that made me seriously consider if this was not meant to be.  Within minutes of meeting him, I learned that he was the brother of someone with whom I graduated high school, best friends with the man that was about to marry someone that I grew up with (and best man in the wedding), we shared the same favorite movie, and at that moment in time, we literally lived on the same street, only five houses away from each other. No, that’s not where we met.  That last one blew me away.  It was almost as if we were bound to meet eventually, some way, some how, like it or not. 

We dated for five years before we got married, but, finally, six years ago today, we made it official.  I was never happier (or thinner).  We watched part of our wedding video yesterday, mostly just to show the kids all of their family dressed up like a bunch of crime-fighting drag queens, but I ended up getting drawn into it.  I smiled, I laughed a lot, but it made me sad as well.  I was a reminded of how many people in six years time are no longer with us.  I wonder if I had known then just how little time there was left with some of them, would I have done anything different?  Since I didn’t want our wedding to be a sad memory for me, I quickly shifted gears and started thinking of all the wonderful little people that are now in our lives, that weren’t back then, and my heart is all smiley again. 

Six years doesn’t seem like that long, but in that time we changed careers, bought a house, had a kid, sold a house, moved to Florida (and consequently bought another house), had another kid, sold a house again, moved back to PA, lived with parents for 6 months, finally bought another house, lost two parents, and now, are again awaiting a new little person.

It’s funny how things come around full circle and just keep on spinning.  Even when it seems like nothing is really going on, things are constantly in flux.  All of a sudden, you wake up one day and realize that you’re in a completely different place than you were just a few short months ago.  I guess that’s just life, peppered with bright & dark spots, and highlighted by the occasional tragedies and triumphs.

So I just want to thank my partner in crime for all of the memories, support, and the greatest gift from the past six years, our own little family.  May the next 6, 10, 30, 60…. years bring many more adventures and bright spots that we can share together for a long time.  I will always be grateful to you and I will always  love you.

42 Responses

  1. Happy anniversary and welcome back to PA!.

  2. Happy anniversary and Congratulations on expecting again!! Maybe you’ll get a little girl this time! Having three is great!

  3. happy 6th wedding anniversary Lauren (: and congratulations on the new baby !!

    all the best for the coming years ! may they be filled with amazing memories that will stay in your hearts forever ❤

  4. Happy Anniversary and CONGRATULATIONS! I am thrilled for you. I must say, I just received some sad news this morning, and as I mournfully wandered my favorite blogs, I was so grateful to find such wonderful news here.
    God bless every single dividing cell. 🙂

  5. I just wanted to add that I really didn’t mean anything negative by the “maybe you’ll get a girl this time” comment. I have the joy of having three daughters, and I’m really not anti-boy (as someone insinuated over on Bill’s blog). I’m sorry if it came across that way.

  6. Happy anniversary and congrats on new baby-on-the-wayness!

  7. Congratulations!! Can’t wait to see the photos of babyness. You are going to post monthy progress photos, right? 😉

  8. Congratulations on 6 years married. and many more years to come
    Surely that is a milepost of some kind in current society?

    I like how you sneaked in the little announcement about the family addition.
    I gave the appropriate girlie squeal — you know the one that somebody simply must let out when told of an engagement or a baby.

    July 13 is our cat Oscar’s birthday. Today is his golden, he is 13 on the 13th.
    I haven’t told him yet about the appointment at the vet’s office for his shots tomorrow.

  9. Wow, your server must be in the middle of the Indian Ocean for my last comment to have posted when it did.

  10. Happy Anniversary and Congratulations on the new little person. I can’t wait to hear the stories.

  11. Congratulations on the new little person. 🙂

  12. WHAT????? are you serious?? CONGRATULATIONS!!!! I mean… SIX YEARS???

    no, no, no.. THAT’S all great.. it really is, but hooray and a heartfelt congrats on the expectations! really; that’s fantastic!

  13. Congratulations! So happy for you guys! Oh . . . and happy anniversary too!

  14. Congratulations on the new little person! And happy anniversary as well. Our 5th was actually yesterday, and we have no kids yet, so you’re WAY ahead of us already.

  15. OMG I reread this like 3 times then went back to rpevious posts like DID I MISS SOMETHING?

    CONGRATS!!! I’m so happy for you and Bill & the boys.

    And Happy Anniversary. Many many more!

  16. CONGRATULATIONS!! On the togetherness, and the babiness!

  17. Happy Anniversary and congrats! Maybe you’ll have another boy – we have three here and it’s fun.

    Then again, if you had a girl, you’d have a model for your girl clothes! 🙂

  18. Happy Anniversary and congratulations on the pregnancy!

  19. Congrats on all the news. I looked back for a while, thinking you had announced a pregnancy earlier and I missed it or something. Then I thought maybe you meant a new niece or nephew was on the way.

    Hope you are feeling well! I know what you mean about losing people. My bro got married five years ago and since then we have lost FOUR special close people who were with us then. Our younger brother, an aunt, an uncle and a cousin who was only 37 when brain cancer took her. It just isn’t right.

    Keep on having those gorgeous babies! Momo9 obviously loved it too, eh?? I wish I had 2 or 3 more, but my hubby said four was all:( *sniff*

  20. happy anniversary and congrats on the new little person on the way… you have such a lovely family!!!

  21. OMG Lauren!! Congratulations! I am so happy for you guys! Oh I love babies!!

    And Happy Anniversary too!

  22. Congrats!!!!

  23. congrats!!!!!

  24. YEAH YEAH YEAH…a yeah for each baby!! oh exciting!

    and times those YEAHs by 2 for six years of wedded bliss.

    You and your family make me smile!

  25. Happy Anniversary!! (better late then never!)

    Congratulations!!

  26. Awesome news!! I am still pondering if I should go for number 3 or not…
    Congrats!!

  27. yeah on a new baby! and happy anniversary! how are you feeling?

  28. Congratulations to you all, on 6 years and #3!

  29. Happy anniversary and many congratulations on the new baby! I can’t wait!!! When are you due?

  30. Congrats…on both putting up with Bill for that long and, more importantly, on the wee-one!

  31. Happy anniversary!!!!

  32. Congratulations on finding your good man and making beautiful babies and a wonderful life. :o)

  33. How wonderful! Congratulations to you and William.

  34. I’ve been reading your husband’s blog for a few years now. My husband and i have a 3 y/o boy and a 4 month old girl and i’m from a big family. I’m enjoying reading your blog, too, my husband and i can truly relate. Congrats on your pregnancy!

  35. Happy anniversary!

  36. And congratulations!!!

  37. Congratulations! On both the six years and the new baby! *Happy Dancy*

  38. This was beautiful Lauren – I’m all choked up. Congratulations on your anniversary, the new little bun, and for your gorgeous and nuanced approach to life.

  39. Congratulations to both of you. We’ll need a due date for the Baby Pool.

  40. I did the same thing as a couple of others – read this post first, then went looking to see if it was announced and I missed it. lol Sneaking it in to see who is paying attention? heehee

    Congratulations to both of you for the anniversary and baby #3! 🙂

  41. CONGRATULATIONS!!!! Couldn’t be happier for you….don’t know whether to wish you boy or girl (I know for a fact it won’t matter!:)…so I’ll wish and pray for healthy!:) (or maybe one of each!)

  42. Wah? BABY?! You’re expecting?! WOW! That’s wonderful! Really wonderful!

    Congratulations to you all! 🙂

Leave a comment