Kindness

Wow, I didn’t mean to be away that long! Sorry, to anyone who is still checking in on me, I guess the days have been filling up, it’s difficult to find the time to write. A short update:

Max’s cast is off, has been for a couple of weeks now. He is getting around amazingly- he has a limp, but it doesn’t hold him back from doing much. I’m sure his doctor would be thrilled he’s back to climbing trees and various playground equipment. He should have the limp for a few months. If he still has it by Halloween, I’m thinking of dressing him up as the Hunchback of Notre Dame…

Throughout this ordeal, I have been both amazed and at times overwhelmed by the kindness of others. So many friends, family, and kind people who care about us checked in on Max, brought/sent him wonderful gifts and things to keep him active during his healing process. Melinda even sent him the most amazing books from across the pond! Thanks, Melinda! (Dr. Dog is now a part of our daily repertoire- perfect for boys).

Anyway, this experience has made me realize that kindness is really something that the world needs more of. And it’s something that I need to work on, because I really think I’ve been more of a taker lately, and it’s time to switch gears and give a little back. I’m not talking about giving things so much, but giving of myself & my time.

Speaking of kindness, check out this absolutely gorgeous pin cushion the sweet and multi-talented Elizabeth from Creative Breathing sent to us:

Humpty

Is this not the sweetest thing ever??? The detail is exquisite. Elizabeth, you are an inspiration on so many levels. If you’re not familiar, she has the sweetest blog chock full of the most fascinating, well told stories, beautiful photos, and amazing projects.

The inpiration to blog hasn’t been there very much as of late, but I’m going to make a much more concerted effort to blog more. It’s been difficult, but I can feel my focus starting to return a little. Thanks for the kindness, the inspiration, and the concern. I will do my best to pay it forward.

6 Responses

  1. you are the mother of 3 boys…and the wife of 1 boy…posting should be bottom on your list. i am sure you have given and will give plenty in the future…

    yea that max is good…and yea for good friends.

  2. I’m so glad to hear that Max is on the mend.

    We miss you, but it is difficult to focus on indoor activities during the summer.

  3. Hello Lauren, So glad to have a report on how Max is getting along. It was a pleasure to send a surprise to him and I am glad you like Dr. Dog. I have read a billion times to friend’s little boy, who just loved it. He’d laugh and laugh like he was hearing for the first time…even though it was around the billion mark! I loved to hear him laugh so!
    Someday, someone else’s child will have a mishap and I am sure you will be the kind friend who knows exactly what is needed to help them through it. But I totally agree with you, kindness is so important.
    cheers and love x

  4. Dear Lauren, I didn’t know that you crafted and came here to your blog to follow the trail of the adorable little houses you posted on flickr. What a surprise to see my pincushion! Wow! You and your family are truly a delight to follow. Time to blog??? I’m impressed you have time to do anything with three active little boys! These truly are the days of memories! Elizabeth

  5. You’re MIA again! I love the new picture that Bill has up of Jackson. He’s getting so big, and must keep you very busy!

  6. your stuff is so sweet!!!

Leave a Reply

