My House is Full of Sevens…

Oh, there’s the doorbell
Let’s see who’s out there

seven at the door

Oh, it’s a seven
Hello, seven
Won’t you come in, Seven?
Make yourself at home.

Hey, who’s that other guy?
Is that your friend there?

seven at the door 2

“Oh, that’s just Seven”
Another seven
Hello, Seven
Won’t you come in as well?
Now who would like some cake?
(“I would like some cake.”)
(“Me too!”)

What’s that at window?

sevens at the window

A whole bunch of sevens
They’re coming in now
And there’s a lot of them
And down the chimney too
(“Hey guys, come on in!”)
I bet they want some cake
“We want cake! Where’s our cake?”

cake

My house is full of sevens
They’re filling up the living room
Sliding down the banister
Talking on the telephone
Inviting over more sevens
(“It’s a green house at the end of the block”)
I’m running out of cake.
“We want cake! Where’s our cake?”

My house is full of sevens
“We want cake! Where’s our cake?”
Lots and lots of sevens
“We want cake! Where’s our cake?”
Many more are stopping by
Sevens add and multiply
There’s only way to subtract them:
Let them eat up all the cake

A fun morning was inspired by this song and spawned by my husband. Seriously, if you don’t already have this album, I highly recommend it, whether you have kids or not… I do find myself listening to it even when the kids are napping… but it has inspired many a silly moment while they are awake, too!

16 Responses

  1. Now that was fun. How is Max?

  2. P.S. The cake is gorgeous.

  3. I LOVE THIS! So FUN! I have lots of Giants songs but this one is sweet.

    When can we talk about that cake? Cause I almost licked my screen. Recipe? What is that frosting ?! LOVE IT!

  4. One of the Sevens is missing its eyes.

  5. I haven’t heard the seven song. I am sure it hip and way cool.

    My husband and I loved a Sesame Street song called
    ‘Rebel L’ a parody of a Billy Idol song. We loved that song. I liked the line, ‘Don’t want to stand for no lace, little lamb or lily pad’. We would sing it to her when ahe was being a bit naughty or stubborn. I am sure when Louisa remembers us singing it to her she will smile and have a good laugh. lalalala

  6. sorry, Lauren…I only sent the url…I didn’t know it would completely take over your comments! So sorry! Melinda x

  7. I am 50 and I love Seven! What a cute idea. My little neighbor boy turns 7 on Friday, I am going to have to make up some sevens for his front door! Such a fun place to visit! Elizabeth

  8. I WANT CAKE !!!! IT LOOKS SO GOOD !!!!

  9. Hey Lauren,

    Based on your recommendation, we’re buying this album to surprise the girls for our upcoming road trip to Maryland (& then Wildwood, the following week). I’ll let you know how it goes over. Hopefully it will be nice & calming & get them to fall fast alseep for the whole 3 hour ride!!! LOL!! Thanks for the recommendation.

  10. Thanks for sharing that! I showed the video to Ewan and Isaac and they thought it was hilarious. We’ve had fun watching it a few times.

  11. They Might Be Giants RAWK! They have a free video podcast you can download. Search “They Might Be Giants Friday Night Family Podcast” in the iTunes store….and it’s free!

  12. This is one of my kids’ favorite CDs! TMBG are awesome!

  13. Who cares about sevens…

    bring on that cake!!!

  14. I want some cake! that is too cute!

  15. I need that cake…SO NEED that cake.

  16. I agree…that cake looks delish! What the heck are those decorations on there? Those yellow things look like lemon sours…and what are those blue circles?? So cute!

Leave a Reply

