A Full Tank and some A.D.D.

I hate stopping for gas.  I know it only takes a few moments, but I am impatient, and I don’t like to have to stop what I’m doing or where I’m going.  I knew I should’ve filled up the other day at Sam’s Club, but truly, if I can squeeze a few more days out of my tank, I will.  Plus, at the time, there was a hot pizza intoxicating us all with it’s warm, cheesy aroma.  There would be no unnecessary stopping.

The next day, I was blessed with some childcare, which afforded me some precious gym time before I had to pick Max up at preschool.  I was running a little behind, but still had enough of a window of time to squeeze in my workout and get out in time to for Max.  I pulled out of the driveway, and, ding!  The gas light went on.  Ugh!  I should’ve gotten it the other day.  No worries, though, there were plenty of gas stations on the way. 

Why is it always raining when I need to get gas?  The traffic was heavier than normal, but stopped at a red light,  I noticed there was not much activity at my usual stop.  Great, I could get in & out.  As I pulled in, I realized the pump closest to me had an orange cone in front of it.  No problem, there were three other open pumps, so I pulled around, only, they all had cones in front of them, too.  Crap!  Ok, not a big deal, I could just go to the gas station across the street.  Normally I would pass this place up, because it’s more expensive, but I was trying to save time.  Not only does stopping for gas get on my nerves, but paying too much for it does, too.  I am willing to pay more for certain things that are of a perceivable higher quality, but gas is gas, right?

So I pulled up, got out, swiped the card and started pumping.  I was in my little zone when I suddenly startled at the sound of someone’s voice.  It sounded like someone over a speaker.  Was the attendant trying to get my attention for something?  I looked all around to figure out what was going on, when I finally realized why I was paying another 8 cents per gallon. 

I looked up, and mounted to the top of the pump was a sleek and shiny flatscreen TV.  I guess it knows when someone starts pumping and automatically starts playing snippets from the day’s top news & entertainment.  I stood there in awe for a moment.  TVs at the gas station?  Really?  I can understand having them in the waiting room at the doctor’s office, but seriously, how long does it take to pump gas?  I know I’m impatient & all, but if I can’t stand there for all of 3 minutes, alone with my thoughts, without something to entertain me, then I think I’m in trouble. 

 What’s next?  TVs at the drive through window?   At the toll booth?  I’m no scientist, but could this be why I feel like my attention span is nowhere near as intact as it used to be?  I do think that greater and more responsibilities as an adult/parent add to my deficiency,  but could the constant bombardment of stimulus have something to do with it as well?  I dunno, but it seems everywhere you turn these days, someone is vying for your attention, with billboards, more extreme commercials, sensational news stories, spam, etc.

“Have a nice day, and drive safely”, the computerized voice said to me as I replaced my gas cap.  I had to stop myself from returning the sentiment.

5 Responses

  1. Ow, my English friends will love this story. But it probably means it will hit the UK 2-3 years later.
    I know what you mean. I am ‘surveyed’ out too. I don’t have or want an opinion about the latest dog food or synthetic vine tomato cheese spread…just leave ME alone!
    This is probably just my down slope to fulfilling my grumpy old lady mutation.

  2. now THAT is insane. I want a tv at my gas pump. I have an enormous fear of running out of gas, so I never go below a quarter tank. My guy, tends to cut it close and when I saw him scared for the first time at midnight in a foreign country/island because we couldnt find a gas station and we were on a deserted road and the light had been on for 20 miles already, well, that just about did me in

  3. Nuts! If a person is desparate for entertainment, can’t s/he sing a song for three minutes or go through a mental to-do list.

  4. This is just the 3rd step to world domination by the Oil Companies.

    Step 1: Invent Cars
    Step 2: Make everyone buy them
    Step 3: Entertain them at the pump
    Step 4: Steal their wallet.
    Step 5: Rule the world.

  5. Distraction is the name of the game these days thanks for sharing..

Leave a Reply

