Therapy in a Jar

A good idea is a good idea, whether it’s mine or not.  Apparently, this concept has made it’s way across the blogosphere, and halfway around the world and back, but I’m just learning about it today. The Magical Thinking Jar is something that will be finding shelf space in our house for a while (or maybe forever).

With all the cute musings and observations that are overheard around this house, I’m surprised we haven’t thought of it already.  Basically, it’s just a jar that holds scraps of paper with all the little things you hear your kids say… the adorable things that you don’t want to forget…. the things that will keep you from strangling them when they are channeling Damian and chucking LEGOs toward you at hyper speed merely for suggesting they eat their snack in the kitchen… just pull one out and… voilá – instant therapy in a jar. 

Then, at some point I suppose you can do somthing with all of this cuteness: put it all into a scrapbook, perhaps, or, well, that’s about all I can think of right now, but you get the idea.

Come to think of it, you don’t even need kids to do this.  Maybe you just use it as your idea jar– a place to store those random thoughts or inspirations that you want to retain for later, that you jot down on a piece of paper, cocktail napkin, junk mail… until you can put them into a journal or bring them to fruition.  I’m getting inspired just thinking about it.

8 Responses

  1. What a great idea! I hadn’t heard of this yet either. Thanks for sharing and I hope to have one too!

  2. You could always use them in a teenage exorcism…when they are onery, disrespectful teens, you can tie them to the chair and recite back all the cuteness they used to have…better yet, you could make them read them out loud.

    I should write child rearing books.

  3. This is a great idea! Just the other day my three year old said the funniest thing. He wanted me to get his M and M’s down from the shelf because he needed to eat them, so he would grow. I explained to him that M and M’s would not help him grow. I told him apples, grapes and veggies would do the trick. He paused, then said, “Mom, can I have an apple?” I said, “sure, you can!”. He then said, “I’m going to eat an apple, so I can grow and reach my M and M’s.” I can not stop smiling every time I think of him saying this!

  4. I like this. I’ve done something similar for an old friend’s b’day. I made a label for the jar that said “Rx for the blues,” like a prescription label, and inside on little slips of paper, I wrote sweet, funny, outrageous memories of things we’d done together, from high school days on.

  5. Therapy in a jar is a great idea. I find it therapeutic to hold new babies…AND I MISSED IT!!! I’ve already demanded a re-visit on Bill’s site. THE ONE DAY I TAKE OFF!!! I’m so bummed.

  6. I have been doing this ever since my oldest was born. He was 16 this past November and I have LOTS of teeny scraps of paper:) I have notebooks full as well. Every week or so I would get out the notebook and update it with the most recent cuteness. Pretty soon weeks turned into months. Each kid’s notebook is thinner of course. In fact, the oldest has three of them! The second has one that is almost full. The third has 20 pages or so and then the last…she has 4 pages. But luckily I tell my mother the stuff and she jots it down for me too:) And they ALL have lots of little scraps of paper…I just never thought to put them in a jar! I also date them. It is easier to figure out the age of the child at the time the cute thing was said.

    Thanks for the jar idea!

  7. What a terrific idea — one that I wish I had done for my daughter… she said so many cute things that made me laugh. It would be nice to go back and have a real piece of paper that had her cute little sayings on them. I will start now with the grandkids…they are always saying such wonderful little things that will be treasured always.

  8. […] Therapy in a Jar […]

Leave a Reply

