Failure

Well, I pretty much gave up on Thing a Day right from the get-go…. being that it’s now day 9 & I’ve only managed (with great difficulty, mind you) to make one thing ( a Muno finger puppet- yes, I know he already looks like a sex toy, and making him into a finger puppet does not help his cause, but it was quick, easy, and oh-so-satisfying).

Realizing my own limits is something I have struggled with in the past and I suppose I still do.  I seem to have these grandiose ideas of what can be accomplished in a short amount of time.  Actually, I’m not being unrealistic- the projects I plan for myself can be accomplished in that time, just not by me.  The harsh reality is that most days, I’m lucky if I can manage to get my teeth brushed by noon. 

Anywho….  this hasn’t stopped me from planning all kinds of  house & craft projects to prepare for a certain someone’s 5th birthday party, in just 3 short weeks.  I’ve got doors to paint, trim to hang, pennants to make, goody bags to stuff, games & activities to plan, cakes to bake, etc, etc, etc…

Will I get it all done?  Probably not.  But at least my teeth will be clean…

4 Responses

  1. I know what you mean. I am one of those people too. I think it just makes us feel good to be able to “say” we can get it done. HA! I just wish I could keep my house orderly. I full time job + 1 14 yr old son+ 1 5 yr old daughter + 1 full time husband (ha) = no time for anything!

  2. Perfect post…I failed at doing everything that I intended on doing this weekend except for one thing…grocery shopping. This was simply because if I hadn’t we would all be starving at this moment in time. I wonder if maybe we could make something to stop time…Nah, never would work.

  3. I have to say that you did not fail because over the past 9 days you have made me smile at least one time each of those days.

  4. I think we put too much pressure on ourselves to get things done. Whenever I have a free moment, I feel like I should be doing something. It’s hard to sit and just relax, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

