New Sheriff in Town

Finally, at long last, and exactly one week old today (as of me writing this), I give you….

 

Jackson Grey

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It’s been fun spending the past week getting to know the little guy.  So far, this is what we’ve learned of him:

  • Not the biggest fan of diaper changes or baths
  • He’s well on his way to becoming an expert marksman
  • He has excellent comedic timing
  • He likes fart jokes
  • Definitely a boob man
  • He gets his bathroom habits from his dad
  • He belches like a drunken sailor (he gets that from me)

I have to say, despite my intimidation of having three boys under the age of five in my care, it’s been really fun, and a little bittersweet, to have a baby around the house again.  Bitterweet because I fear this might be the last time, and I’ve always been so in awe of the entire experience.  There is simply nothing in the world like having a baby.  As much work, discomfort, and pain that it takes a woman to go through in order to carry a child and give birth, I feel incredibly blessed and honored to be able to do so.   It’s totally amazing, and something I imagine a man could never quite understand the same way (no offense, guys!). 

I’d like to thank everyone for all of the congratulatory wishes and positive vibes you’ve been sending our way.  I’ve read and enjoyed each of your emails and comments and, although I haven’t been able to respond to pretty much anybody, I do want you to know that it means so much to have people who care about us and our family- whether you’ve actually met us or not.  I’m still formulatin’ the whole birth story… not really sure if there’s enough to make an entire “story”, but you know what I mean…  all the fun details.  I vow to make it as fascinating as possible, and use the term “mucous plug” as many times as I can so as to gross my husband out as much as possible.

Until then, sleep well, and dream of large women.

40 Responses

  1. He is absolutely precious! And sounds just like William. 🙂

    CONGRATS!

  2. Oh. my. gosh. that is just about the cutest lil baby I have ever seen! Congrats, y’all!

  3. He’s just beautiful. Can I say that? I’m saying it anyway. 🙂 Glad you have all your boys around you to help and “help”.

  4. He is gorgeous. Congratulations!

  5. I am so happy to see that your first week has been so exciting! He’s as handsome as ever! I can’t wait to hear all the details, Bill kinda already “promised” he was saving the story for you to tell. Have a wonderful time with all the testosterone flowing through your house. LOL!

  6. Seriously…you had to say the M word…..bleghrrrrr

  7. He is truly adorable. Congratulations! I’m so glad that everyone is doing well.

  8. LOVE the first picture.

    What a sweet baby.

    One thing for sure, you and William make pretty, pretty, pretty babies.

    okay…you can do it maybe…just one more time…LOL

    I can’t wait for the tales of your 3 sons!

  9. Ohhhh congratulations!! He’s so precious. You should get sharkeymalarkey to come take some photos for you. So happy for you guys.

    Mucous plug! Hehe

  10. What a sweetheart. Love the yawning photos! Congratulations!

    I would be honored to take some photos of him. Just say the word and we’ll work out a time. Thanks, MM, for the plug! (And I don’t mean mucous plug. Hi Bill!)

  11. Oh Lauren, he is adorable! Congratulations!!

  12. Absolutely glorious. 🙂
    I love what you say about pregnancy and giving birth. I have to think God likes us best, to let us do that.

    Mucous plug.

  13. Congratulatiins!

    He is absolutely beautiful.

  14. Congratulations! I know what you mean about the bittersweet part.

    Enjoy every minute of them all. Best wishes!

  15. So cute! Can’t wait to hear the whole story. And I love how both you and Bill can work a Princess Bride quote into any post!

  16. You’ve found a way to gross-out Bill? Well done!!

    Jackson is just darling, like his brothers. Congratulations!

  17. He’s beautiful, Lauren.

    “…I feel incredibly blessed and honored to be able to do so.”
    This is one of the most beautiful lines I have read.

  18. AWWWWW! LOVE the name! I have a Jackson too.
    He is just beautiful.
    Can’t wait to hear more.

    🙂

  19. Congratulations! He is so precious.

  20. I love the baby yawn! Congratulations!!! God Bless

  21. He’s a beautiful addition to your already beautiful family. I hope you have decades of wonderful times together.

  22. So very precious! I knew my 3rd would be my last. Enjoy him. As you know, they grow so fast!

    Oh, and adding the 3rd child is MUCH easier than the 2nd!

  23. Jackson is gorgeous. Can we have some naked baby feet pictures. I have a thing for baby feet. I mean that in a cute and healthy way… not a perverted pervert way!

    So Bill doesn’t like to us to mention mucous plug? Interesting. My husband didn’t like the meconium stools being mentioned or trying to clean them up.

  24. He is just beautiful! Congrats to all of you. And what is so gross about the mucous plug? I have heard worse!

  25. Jackson is adorable, and what great pictures!

  26. Look at that perfect little guy…he took my breath away, he’s so cute! All the best…with 4 guys in the house, you’re gonna need it!

  27. Congrats on the new addition. He is SO cute!

  28. wow–another handsome man in your house–what are you going to do with all of them??!! He is simply gorgeous! Congratulations–try to catch a few minutes of sleep here and there!

    Hugs to you and Jackson!

  29. Just precious! Congrats to you and yours – my sister has three boys. Chaotic but FUN! – cheers Belinda 🙂

  30. What a beautiful, marvelous baby! Handsome, and oh, so SWEET! Could just squeeze him…he is absolutely adorable. Great job, Lauren & Bill. It isn’t any easier with number 3 because all pregnancies are different anyway (at least I have been told since I only had one). I know Max and Wyatt will just adore him as well. Praying you will get lots of rest and cooperation from everyone so you won’t feel stressed/tired/hormonal. Congratulations and we await your birth story…I love hearing birth stories. My sweet daughter has three boys too and they are wonderful. By the way, Lauren, the hat you made was terrific and Baby Graham looks so very adorable wearing it. Amelia will be posting some pictures soon. Congratulations again. Hugs to all.

  31. He is a beautiful baby!

  32. Congratulations! He’s adorable! I follow your blog and your husband’s….these kids are going to be some funny lads!!

  33. Congratulations! He’s so beautiful and loving the head of hair!

  34. so sweet and precious!!!

  35. Congratulations! I love that yawn picture, what a little sweetheart you have!

    Just found your blog along with your husbands – you are both very witty.

  36. Congrats….he’s is a little cutie!

  37. “three boys under the age of five”?! sorry! i thought, for some strange reason, that you had FOUR boys under the age of five. 😉 congrats to you all on having such a fine, healthy family. blessings to you.

  38. congratulations, lauren… i have told you before and it still stands, your boys’ handsomeness rivals that of my beloved nephews and that is a hard feat to accomplish!

    welcome baby jackson!!!

  39. Congratulations on a Labor well done!

    Beautiful pictures, esp the yawn and scrunchy eyes.

    We growed up three sons at our house, and I can tell ya, there is never a dull moment.

  40. I stummbled across your blog and was pleasantly suprised. I have a Jackson who was born January 8th. His older sister’s name is Lauren. Great names huh!

Leave a Reply

