For Lack of a Better Post

It’s been one of those days…. you know, the ones where you walk out of the room for a minute and your two-year-old has colored the entire toilet in your new Physician’s Formula under eye concealer. The kind where, between the dog, two cats, and two rugrats, you’ve basically been up to your elbows in poop for the bulk of the morning.  The kind where the car keys end up at the bottom of the 4 foot tall rancid, putrid outdoor trash bin where you should’ve thrown the dirty diaper instead.  Yep, pretty darn sweet. It’s cloudy. Other than procrastinating, I haven’t been getting a thing done.  It’s been a basically funky week in general.

But then I got in the car to take Max to school, and “New Beginning” by Tracy Chapman was playing on the radio.  What a great song.  It reminded me that just because a day starts out one way, there’s always time to turn it around.  It’s actually something I’m always trying to teach Max.  So, why, I ask myself, impose my funk on anyone else, when I can simply share some fun stuff that I’ve found while wasting time researching future projects and freebies?

First, I know it’s a little early, but I can’t help it, I’ve already got Christmas on the brain. It’s never too early to start your shopping, and, hey, while you’re at it, why not get your gifts wrapped and tagged early, too (that’s the part that I NEVER allow enough time for)? To get you started, here are some fun downloadable Dr Seuss gift tags from Seussville:

  dr-seuss-tag 

If you’re not *quite* ready to admit that the holidays are fast approaching, here are some cute and stylish “four season” gift tags and baby gift tags courtesy of Fog and Thistle

Next, if you have any leftover pumpkins and/or gourds from Halloween that haven’t been hacked into, why not make a pumpkin topiary to decorate your front porch or table for Thanksgiving? 

pumpkin-topiary

I made two for our porch one year, courtesy of Martha Stewart, but I can no longer find the directions.  P. Allen Smith has some similar instructions, as does hgtv.com.

Speaking of everybody’s favorite Domestic Diva, Martha Stewart, she has a plethora of fun projects on her website.  Being that I have a new found addiction to felt, one I’m planning on trying soon is this felt fall berry wreath

 

felt-berry-wreath1

 

I could go on and on, but I think that will suffice for now.  Does anyone else have any projects you’re planning for the season?

2 Responses

  1. I love the gift tags!
    I have a random question for you. I’m not so good at all things bloggy, so, here goes…How do you put the line through a word? I know this is probably really simple and I feel really CRAZY for even asking. HA! Anyway…
    The main decoration I want to add this year is a clear vase, bowl, or anything clear with shiny, colorful Christmas balls for a table. I know poopandboogies could have a feild day with that statement. I know it’s not crafty but…..

  2. It must be the time change thing still. Thanks for the gift tags. Hop on over to my blog to see my latest work! I am excited.

Leave a Reply

