Ah, Fall…

I had this post sitting in my drafts folder yesterday, I guess it would’ve made more sense to publish it then, being it was the first day of Autumn, & all….

Anyway, what is it about this time of the year that re-energizes me?  When everything is supposedly dying, I’m feeling renewed.  When I was little, it was all about summer… I guess having no school had something to do with it, but nowadays, I’m all about fall.  Maybe now it’s more about getting the kidlets back to school that energizes me!  🙂

 

Despite the big ol’ belly, I’m finally feeling up to getting more work done around the house, we’re actually getting to some much needed landscaping done in the front yard, and I am overflowing with crafty ideas for both my upcoming shows, the shop, Halloween, and my own personal gift-giving.  The boys are also bouncing off the walls with new found energy, but it’s all good. 

I’m so looking forward to going pumpkin picking, baking some seasonal yummies, and taking the boys on hayrides.  And Halloween is quickly becoming one of my favorite holidays.  I sort of made up this family rule last year that they boys can always be whatever they want (within reason) for Halloween, as long as it’s something that we ( aka, I ) can make.  Last year, Max wanted to be a dinosaur, and Wyatt, by default, was a goblin:

 

This year, Max asked to be a robot.  At this point, I have no idea where to start with this.  I’d like to avoid the typical cardboard box idea, but I’m open to using all kinds of materials.  Any ideas?  For the moment, I’m keeping Wyatt’s costume under wraps. 

And as far as seasonal harvest goes, we were lucky enough to get a half of one week’s share of a CSA last week, and among other things, went home with some yellow beets.  Last night, I finally got around to making them, and despite an EXTREMELY hesitant family, they were a big hit ( well, not with Wyatt, but if it’s not coated in sugar or spaghetti, he generally won’t eat it anyway).  Max actually cleaned his plate.  I even sauteed the beet greens with some onions & garlic, and I think they were even more delicious than the roasted beets.  There was only enough of the greens for me & Bill, but I think Max was ok with that 🙂 .  It was a nice change of pace from our usual broccoli, cauliflower, peas, and carrot repertoire.  If you’re interested, I used this recipe.

5 Responses

  1. I think that the flexible dryer vent tube things, that are metallic, would be awesome robot arm/legs! maybe that’s a good place to start!

  2. Roasted Beets were good.

  3. You could use foam instead of cardboard for the robot costume. It would be more durable and perhaps one of the other boys would reuse the costume another year. I can’t wait to hear about Wyatt’s costume.

  4. I’m feeling inadequate after looking at that photo. Thank God for Spirit, the Halloween store, that’s all I have to say.

  5. I remember seeing somewhere, and for the life of me cant remember where, but robot costume made out of the sun shields you put on your car front window during the day to refelect the sun. They are silver and shiny and “roboty” and being flexible for someone as cleverly crafty as you Im sure they would be easy enough to whip something up.

    Good Luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

