Get ’em to eat their veggies

 

First of all, thanks to everyone for all the baby love!  I’m still digesting the fact that I’m going to be mom to 3 boys, but I think that everything happens for a reason.  It’s funny, the old woman that we bought this house from had 3 boys, so it’s kind of like continuing the legacy.  Poor little Max had his heart set on a baby sister, but he’s already starting to come around.  Wyatt seems excited, too, but I think the jury will still be out until we have actual baby-in-hand.

So I was doing some hormonal baking the other day.  I say hormonal because basically, if it had chocolate in it, I was going to make it.  I think chocolate covered hot dogs would’ve sounded good at the time.  Anyway, whenever I need to make something for dinner, etc. and I have a particular ingredient that I would like to use (or if I’m just looking for ideas in general), one of my favorite sites to go to is allrecipes.com.  I like this site because you can search by ingredient, and, like other similar websites, all of the recipes are rated by people who’ve already tried them.  I also like it when reviewers share what they changed about the recipes, or recommendations for what they would do differently if they made it again. 

So I went on the other day in search of something for dinner, an on the home page was a recipe for chocolate zucchini bread.  Now, I like my veggies & all, but normally this would not make me take pause. I guess the promise of a double dose of chocolate and the five star rating from 277 reviewers is what made my hormonal ass stop in its tracks.  Could it really be that good?

Max has always been a good veggie eater.  He definitely has his dislikes, but I’m happy with what he’ll put in his mouth.  Wyatt, on the other hand, will either flat out refuse it, or he’ll secretly hide his veggies next to him in the booster seat so that by the time we realize what he’s been up to, he’s already free.  He basically likes tomatoes and cucumbers.  That’s it.  I’ve resorted to cooking a pot of veggies & pureeing them in spaghetti sauce just to sneak them in.  (Side note: of course, Wyatt likes red sauce, and Max does not, so this trick only works for half of the little people in this house).  I know a lot of parents aren’t big fans of getting sneaky about it, but I’ve tried the “just putting it in front of them repeatedly” trick, & I still do, but so far it hasn’t worked.

Wyatt also likes soup (Max does not- BIG SURPRISE!)  so the other week I tried this really yummy, fast & easy zucchini soup recipe hoping he would be all over it.  He wasn’t.  The grown ups ate it, but I did have a good amount of zucchini left over (gotta love Produce Junction) so this bread was worth a shot.  Let me tell you–decadent is not the word.  If you are having a chocolate attack, this bread is for you.  I made it for the kids, but I think Bill & I ended up eating most of it.  And the zucchini?  No sign of it– you would never know it was in there. 

Because of the state of my hormones, and a previous bout of extremely dry muffins, I took one reviewer’s advice and added a cup of lite sour cream to the recipe, along with 3 extra tablespoons of cocoa to the dry mix.  I also increased the chocolate chips to one cup, and sprinkled some on top as well.  Finally, since fat content was so obviously an issue (chocolate chips are fat-free, did you know that? REALLY!), I replaced half of the oil with applesauce. 

I also learned that if you throw your chocolate chips into the dry mix (instead of at the very end, like most recipes), it prevents them from all sinking to the bottom. It worked!

So, without further ado, I give you….

 

Chocolate Zucchini Bread

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 (1 ounce) squares unsweetened chocolate
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 cups white sugar
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 cups grated zucchini
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 3/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Lightly grease two 9×5 inch loaf pans. In a microwave-safe bowl, microwave chocolate until melted. Stir occasionally until chocolate is smooth.
  2. In a large bowl, combine eggs, sugar, oil, grated zucchini, vanilla and chocolate; beat well. Stir in the flour baking soda, salt and cinnamon. Fold in the chocolate chips. Pour batter into prepared loaf pans.
  3. Bake in preheated oven for 60 to 70 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of a loaf comes out clean.

 

** In addition to the changes noted above, I also used cocoa and shortening instead of baking squares ( 3T cocoa + 1T shortening = 1 chocolate baking square).
13 Responses

  1. This was not about sneaking Vegetables into a chocolate cake. It was about sneaking CHOCOLATE into vegetables.

  2. Steaming veggies maintain almost all their nutritional value. Cooking Recipe

  3. I am SO making this today. Thanks for the tips on how you changed it! Yum!!!

  4. I am going to try this recipe. My kids eat their veggies, my husband does not. I sautee carrots and celery and then puree them and add to my hamburgers. Everyone compliments me on the flavor, and hubby always eats at least 2. Sometimes you just have to do this for the sake of their health.

  5. I’m delurking here. I found the same recipe a few years ago on Allrecipes and I’m with you, it’s absolutely fantastic. I make it with all applesauce and no oil and it bakes wonderfully. Friends and family love it so much that I actually grate zucchini in recipe-sized portions and freeze it so I can make the bread year-round.

  6. Okay, if Max will settle for a ‘little’ sister I volunteer! (And I too LOVE the chocolate) And considering I’m a dwarf he will always be the bigger brother. We do have to work out the age difference thing since I can be his grandma also. 🙂

    Love how clever you are in so many ways. Best wishes for a smooth pregnancy and a healthy boy number three. My aunt had 3 girls while searching for the boy who was child number 4.

  7. I heart allrecipes! I use it ALL the time. One time I picked up some ground pork at the store cuz it was cheap and I had no idea what to do with it. Allrecipes to the rescue!

    I’ll have to try that recipe. Zucchini is abundant at the farmers market right now.

    I was hoping for a girl with #3 last time but we got another boy. The boys wanted a baby sister too but they love their baby brother. I think we are going to have a #4 and I am resigning myself to the fact that I will probably have another boy. Sometimes I think I would have NO idea what to do with a baby girl anyway!

    Yeah for 3 boys! And yeah that you won’t have to buy all new clothes! Although I have to admit that I get a dreamy eyed look when I pass by the cute pink and purple girly section at the stores! 😉

  8. Have fun with your winnings, Miss I-Never-Win-Anything!!!

  9. This sounds and looks YUMMY!

    My oldest son cried for two days when we found out our third was another boy. The second one finally started crying, just because the older one and I were such blubbering fools!

    Then one glorious day when the third one (who we all fell in love with instantly as I KNEW we would! Not his fault he had a silly hangy thing in between his legs, ya know??) was eight months old, he started acting funny when he nursed and quit wanting to nurse. I called LLL and they suggested the possibility that I was pregnant. Turns out they were right! When the third one was 15 months old, I gave birth to my beautiful daughter!

  10. Ok, I had to make this. And I did it with all your alterations, and it was AMAZING! 🙂

    My husband and I are addicted now. Thanks for giving us another way to use up all our zucchini. It seems to be the only thing we can grow this year!!

  11. I got this in the over, and it smells heavenly! Thanks for the recipe!

  12. Ooops…I mean oven, not over. 🙂

  13. […] public links >> sauce Get ‘em to eat their veggies Saved by LAbob1979 on Sun 02-11-2008 Amazing Insights On The Chinese Food Diet, Lose Weight With […]

Leave a Reply

