Unfriendly Visitor

This guy greeted us the other morning on our front step: 

 

 

 

 

I thought he was half-dead, as he was on his back, and moving his legs in slow motion.  I flipped him over, and he was motionless.  It was only after I tried to shoo him off the porch that he took on his “DON’T MESS WITH ME” stance & got all up in my face… 

Let me tell you, this stag beetle was BIG!  And I thought the bugs in Florida were large…

I read somewhere one time that the average person swallows about 8 spiders a year.  I don’t want to know the stats on this guy…

7 Responses

  1. You should have let the kids ride him around the front yard.

  2. 8 spiders?? What?? How? How how how?? I suddenly feel like I want to throw up.

  3. those are some big pinchers!

  4. That is why I need to get back to California…sure, I might have to eat spiders when I sleep, but I don’t have to see crap like that in my yard.

  5. Yuck. He’s one ugly dude. Not something I like to open my door to either… and double yuck on the whole spider thing. I’ve never heard that.. never even crossed my mind for one second. I’ve got to go study up on this. It’s just gross!

  6. That thing is scary! Really we swallow that many? That’s just gross!

  7. Nice macro shot. But … Ewwwwwwwwwww!

Leave a Reply

