Summer Solstice Cleaning

It turned out to be a pretty nice weekend here, a little warm, but not over the top.  It was productive, getting some cleaning & yard work done.  Since December, all house projects have come to a complete halt, and the garage, the landing pad for any tool or other miscellaneous item without a home, has gotten *slightly* out of control….. OK, it’s a complete & utter disaster.  Basically, it got so bad that it’s prevented us from moving forward with any project that requires a tool or paint, because, well… it’s just not worth the extra half hour spent searching for the item in need, nor the risk of putting our lives in peril for fear something big might come down on top of us.

I know we’re not the only ones– I’ve walked by other houses in our neighborhood with their garage doors open, and for the most part, they’re just as bad.  I suppose the exception would be the people who have a shed in their backyard… we don’t.  All of the houses that share the same style as ours have a garage with a door that faces the side of the house, making it near impossible to actually park a car inside.  Due to the extreme skill level one would need to angle the car in & out, most have also become storage facilities. 

We’ve lived in our house for almost nine months now, and this is probably the third or fourth time we’ve cleaned out the garage.  Not a good sign….  But this time, we actually pulled stuff out & rearranged (OK, mostly Bill did that while I stood there & pointed) instead of just straightening up a mess that had no rhyme or reason.  Stuff we don’t immediately need made it’s way up to the attic (which now needs its own cleaning).  Other stuff, like yard equipment, got grouped together.  It felt good.

We even made a special trip to the Home Depot to get some snazzy peg hooks & tool-holder thingies, which will hopefully all be hung by the end of this week.  And so commences all the overdue home improvements that have been patiently waiting their turn in line.  Now, if only I didn’t have A.D.D.  when it came to projects, we might actually be able to get something finished. 

For a long time now, we’ve had sort of an 80% rule when it comes to any kind of home improvement project.  We get it done to a livable level (80%), & I get bored & move on to something else.  Hence, the kitchen still has no base moulding and the fabric I bought for valances still sits in the studio, already cut, but not sewn.   With the garage clean-up, my head started spinning with all kinds of new projects we could tackle: new flooring in the foyer, a window seat in the family room, and hey, maybe we can pull out the ugly, dated railing on our stairs and put in a much more attractive wooden balustrade…. Bill, if you’re reading this, please stop twitching.  I think he would pass out if I ever put my mental list into writing.

 Now that the garage is about 80% done, it’s time to start something new…  🙂

3 Responses

  1. Wait *twitch* by cleaning out the garage *twitch* I now have more projects *twitch twitch*

  2. I find home improvement projects overwhelming. I usually make a list, focus on one thing at a time and then just mark off as I go.

    Good luck!

    Bill might need some medical attention.

  3. I seriously need to do this. I am working on my office now. I have two weeks left in my goal to have it cleaned up. Why don’t you and Bill come play? I’ll buy lunch to offset the cost of your plane tickets? Ha! 🙂

Leave a Reply

