Two Years

When you think about it, two years is a long time.  It’s also a short time.  When you’re waiting in line for gas (ok, maybe it only felt like two years), it’s a long time.  When you’re talking about my baby boy, it’s an amazingly short period, and it somehow snuck up on me. 

Yesterday was Wyatt’s birthday.  Two years can really whiz by when your kids are growing up.  Gone are the days of spit up, bouncy seats, and nighttime feedings.  Enter the period of jumping off couches, singing the alphabet (albeit out of order) and daily time-outs.  I can remember my first ultrasound when I was pregnant with Wyatt, and the fear we felt when they noticed a “spot” on his heart.  We were immediately rushed off to the high risk Doctor to have a level 3 scan to investigate further.  It turned out to be nothing, but it was a significant preview of all the future mini heart attacks I would suffer as a result of his daredevil personality. 

 

I can also remember wondering if there would be enough love in our hearts for another child, when we already loved Max so much.  Now I can’t ever imagine not having him in our lives.  He is stubborn, defiant, mischievous, and he does NOT like being told “no”.  But overall, he is happy, with a great sense of humor, and a knack for making me forget why I’m reprimanding him.  “OK, mommy, I wub you”, as he gives me a hug and lays his head on my shoulder.  He has infintely improved upon the quality of my life.  Happy Birthday, big boy.   

 

12 Responses

  1. Awwww . . . what a sweet boy. That cake’s lookin’ good too!

    Happy birthday, Wyatt!

  2. Awww :*) Happy birthday, Wyatt! I just love reading about him, he reminds me of my Hurricane Lulu!

    Cute birthday shirt!

  3. Happy Birthday Little Big Boy! 🙂

  4. He is a funny funny funny person.

    “He is stubborn, defiant—” Genes he inherited from you.

  5. It does seem like he was born only yesterday.

    Happy Birthday to the little man!

  6. He is beautiful!!!

  7. Happy Birthday! They do grow up so fast. The two years only seems like 6 months…The older they get the worse it gets.

  8. AWWW Hppy Birthday Wyatt! I love your 2 t-shirt I bet your clever mummy made that one.
    I know what you mean about wondering how you could love another as much as the first but it just finds its self there just as big as the first.
    LOL at William I am sure his genes are surley mixed in there somewhat.

  9. ooh, happy birthday to your son :):) i think he’s really lucky to have a cool mom who can make awesome stuff for him!

    and that cake sure looks yummy!

  10. Happy Birthday! He reminds me of my second son – the worry during pregnancy and now the daredevilness of his toddlerhood.

    And – I love that shirt with the two on it! Very fun!

  11. Happy Birthday to you Wyatt!!! 🙂

  12. A belated Happy Birthday to Wyatt!

Leave a Reply

