Imitation

Last night I braved my way through Kensington to attend a class for sellers on Etsy.  My dear friend Liz accompanied me, and we managed to make it there in one piece and (almost) on time.  It was informative, although much of the time was taken up with instructions on how to list an item, which I already know how to do.  There were a few tips shared, although I would be lying if I said I wasn’t hoping for more “insider” secrets to selling.  Liz is always good for some interesting conversation, and since we share the same opinions on a lot of matters, she’s always a pleasure to be around.

Anyway, I’ve been pretty happy with the amount of orders I’ve gotten just from the blog, and special requests from people who’ve seen my stuff on flickr & etsy.  Not that I wouldn’t be more than happy to get more, of course, but it’s been nice & steady.  I realize I have not had a shop update in quite a while, and, all I can say is, I’m sorry!  Anyone who clicks on the links to my shop must be so bored by the same old pictures that’ve been up there since Easter….  I do have an update coming, I promise! 

The good thing about taking the class last night was it got me motivated to get my heiney in gear & pump out some new stuff.  I’ve had these ideas floating around for so long, it’s time to make them materialize.  I’ve always been kind of in awe of the fact that we as humans can take something intangible and abstract, like a thought, or an idea, and make it into something real.  Something that can be touched, listened to, read, admired, or even criticized by others.  You can offer someone a little window into what’s inside your mind.  I guess it’s a little like imitating God… pretty cool.  After all, isn’t imitation the highest form of flattery?

3 Responses

  1. Beautiful thoughts there at the end. I’m thinking of trying to imitate your shirts for the kids. We’ll see how *that* goes! They are totally growing out of the one’s you made for Max’s birthday.

    Today we walked by your house. The kids were speculating about how big your boys are. Wish you had been around to meet us at the part today!

    And for what it’s worth, I have a bunch of new babies coming into my world, so I might be calling you to make a few things. Esther is expecting her first!! And a few other friends are too. I look forward to see what else you’re going to post. Love ya!

  2. I need Etsy insider secrets! I have had my shop open for a day or two now and happy with the traffic that have looked at my things, but no orders. I am the type of person that wants it done now! Although, I know that’s not the way things happen. I have new things waiting to post to sell to keep the shop with fresh merchandise, but it’s just that I hate spending so much to list (yea I know it’s only 20cents) but I have listed 12 things so far and have about 5 more things to add and working on more.

    I have made little business cards and now I think that I will make a couple of flyers and post them up on the bulletin boards at church.

    Ok…So I have rambled on about myself, sorry!

    I am glad that you got to attend such a class. And your stuff is uber awesome! I am waiting to order Kelsie’s shirt for her b’day from you closer to time. She had a major growth spurt!! She is almost out of the one I ordered! : ( They grow too fast!! I guess I need to stop feeding her! j/k

  3. I don’t know how you do it! My three kids keep me too busy.

    Or maybe I’m just too disorganized. that’s something I’m trying to work on.

    PS Love the little blue kitty with the yarn!

Leave a Reply

