Passing the torch

Today is Max’s last day of Preschool.  I can’t believe how fast it went.  Now that I’ve become accustomed to having him in school two days a week, I’m faced with the challenge of how to keep him entertained all summer.  Two days a week doesn’t seem like a lot, especially since it’s only for a few hours at a time, but it does help break up the day/week.   I’m sure we’ll have a lot of fun over the summer, but it is somewhat difficult to “stay fresh” & keep both him & his brother occupied & engaged.  I would like to say I have a whole list of things planned, places to go, and activities to keep their minds active.  The truth is, this list consists of a trip to the zoo.   I did get my requested copy of The Creative Family  for Mother’s Day, so I will definitely be hitting that up for some ideas. 

Sadly, though, my kids don’t seem to be bitten by the creative bug.  Part of the reason I have not posted anymore “Kids Crafty” features, is that I cannot get them to finish one single project!  Ok, I know, they’re only 4 and not quite 2, and maybe my expectations are a little high at this point, but it’s not like I’m trying to get them to build the world’s largest LEGO tower  or anything.  Hmmm…. a room full of half-finished craft projects…. sounds strangely familiar.   I guess they get their craft A.D.D. from me.

Anyway, as we get ready for his last day, I think about how much he’s grown this year.  His language skills and ability to carry on an intelligent conversation (even if it is dominated by superheroes and their various powers/weapons) has grown tremendously.  He has passed the side-by-side play for more engaged playtime with his friends.  Over the past few months he has blossomed into such a pleasure to be around.  He still has his tantrums, but nowhere near what he used to, and he takes being told “no” so much better, it’s almost like I have someone else’s child.  True, we’re still dealing with some issues, but I have to remain confident that they will resolve themselves when he is good and ready. 

Someone once told me the terrible two’s don’t go away until sometime during the age of four.  I guess this theory held up for Max, just in time for his little brother to step in & take over.  While Max’s past few months have shown such strides in his personality, Wyatt has hit terrible two-ness with a vengeance. Again, it’s like someone switched kids with me in the middle of the night.  Let me just tell you– if you’re ever around Wyatt and a banana, you’d better hope & pray it doesn’t break, because hell hath no fury like a little boy whose banana just broke.

At least I know this “phase” will pass, even if it does take two & a half years or so….

 

Anyway, here are Max’s teacher’s gifts:

They started out as lunchboxes, but I guess they’re pretty much just summer purses now.  I hope they like them- they certainly earned it!

12 Responses

  1. I wish I were one of Max’s teachers! Those are both lovely bags and I’m sure they will love them.

  2. What great teacher gifts! We’ve got the Hurricane hitting two-berty like a freaking brick wall and HRH making me SWEAR she’s already PMSing some days :X We do mall days (Children’s Museum… ours is in the mall… playground, food court, storytime at Barnes & Noble, ride on the merry-go-round), water days (timing it JUST right to hit every sprinkler on the street, lol), Incredible Pizza (like Chuck E Cheese on roids), hoping to hit the zoo before Houston feels like Satan’s furnace, and I’m still trying to figure more. Have you seen the giant inflatable easel from Crayola? I’m thiking we might NEED one here.

  3. I too, am going to miss the fact that Max went to school two days a week.

  4. Wow…I love the bags! We can never get through crafts around here either. I hope it’s a phase and Kayla is too old she says for crafts unless it involves Hannah Montana or High School Musical!

  5. Those bags look so great, Lauren! They’re look totally professional!

  6. i totally agree with sillydreamer. you are seriously incredibly talented. i couldn’t produce something like that if i tried, and i’m kidless! you’re very talented.

  7. hello 😀 i happened to chance upon your blog and am truly going crazy at your handicraft and the awesome fabric you use! (: it’s amazing!!

    you’ve got me hooked on your blog for sure!

  8. How could they not like their gifts? They are BEAUTIFUL! I totally want to be you when I grow up. 🙂

  9. My mom is a kindergarten teacher, and I can assure you that Max’s teachers will cherish those gifts.

  10. Today was Brenna’s last day of school and I, like you, wonder how we will keep busy (and not go insane) all summer.

    I love your teacher’s gifts. I totally forgot about it until I was in the store getting cupcakes for the party (long story, you can read it here) so they got little photo holder thingies in cute bug shapes. It was the best I could do… Sometimes I prepare so well. And other times… Yeah, not so much.

  11. The bus dropped them off from their last “half” day of school today. It was 10:50 a.m.

    They were fighting by 10:59 a.m.

    How many more days until school starts again?

    The Maid

  12. OMG those bags are fabulous!!! I love the darker one! Wow you sure are talented.

Leave a Reply

