In the Moment

I was reminded yesterday that I’ve been projecting myself into the future a little too much lately.  I can’t help it, worry & concern over what is to come seems to run in my blood.  I have also been guilty of agonizing over the past at times.  The past is…. past.  You can’t change it.  All you can do is learn from it & use it as an educational tool.  I really think I’ve been missing out on a lot this way.  

Today, I am going to try and focus & enjoy whatever it is that I am doing at that moment in time.  Have you ever really tried to do this?  Just wash a dish & not think about what you need to do next, what bills are due, who you’re going to get to babysit Friday night?  It’s not easy!

I started this morning up early, went in my sewing room to do a few things that should’ve been done last night.  About 20 minutes later, Max started yelling for daddy.  Then, not to be outdone, Wyatt started yelling for me.  I didn’t finish what I was doing.  I went in and cuddled with my almost two year old, and I didn’t worry about what I didn’t finish.  It was wonderful.  We giggled.  We tickled.  We gave butterfly kisses.  I’m going to give it a shot the rest of the day.  I’m certainly no expert, but I think this might be a way to find more happiness and satisfaction with life in general.

Now, I’m not sure how much I’ll be enjoying the moment when that pesky eyelash gets stuck in my eye, & try as I might, it just WON’T come out, but we’ll see how the rest of the day goes…

6 Responses

  1. Wow, you totally made me stop and think. I definitley need to slow down and enjoy the moments more. I have been so busy this month and I keep saying “I just need to get through this month.” I am so focused on the end of the month, I am missing out on enjoying all the activities that are keeping me so busy right now. Thanks Lauren, you gave me the kick in the pants I needed. 🙂

  2. Thank you for this post. I really needed to hear some of it. I need to stop worrying about and wondering what I need to do next and focus on the moment. Thank you! : )

  3. You know Bill has a photo of you up on his last post. Geez lady, you are getting younger and younger. You look awesome!!

  4. Maybe I should try blogging less and loving on my people more! 😉

    Cause someday, I will have 7 kiddos who can leave me comments! LOL

    Sweet reminder for us all, thanks!

  5. What a great reminder! It will be my inspiration for the evening since the house is a wreck and I would rather enjoy hanging out on the couch and finishing a movie that husband and I started 2 nights ago than cleaning up our “rush out of the house mess to get to a meeting on time”.

    I know I need more moments like those with my kids. Sigh.

  6. How did it go? I am worrier too and should try to focus on the moment.

Leave a Reply

