Fun, Flatulence, and Flying Poo

A belated Happy Mother’s Day to all of the Mama Bears out there.  I hope you all had as great a day as I did. 

The day started with an exquisite extra hour & half of sleep, followed by two very excited, wiggly, giggly boys climbing in bed with me with an awesome breakfast not far behind.  There was laughing.  There was licking.  There was a picture of me drawn by Max:  “Look, mommy!  I gave you one big eye- I made you a cyclops!”  Unfortunately, I do not have a picture of it to share.

After enjoying a nice long shower, and since it was truly the most beautiful weather, I thought it would be appropriate to go to the “Mother” of all playgrounds…. Kid’s Castle.  Check this beast out:

These photos don’t even do it justice… this place is every kid’s dream come true as far as playgrounds go.  The huge castle part is very much like an M.C. Escher maze, complete with a three story slide that I think Bill almost got stuck in.  There’s a ton of swings, a pirate ship, a whole sandbox section, bridges, monkey bars, balance beams, the list goes on & on.  And it’s all free.  Gotta love the city of Doylestown.

Afterwards, we enjoyed a nice lunch out served by a not-so-nice waiter (I think he maybe partied a little too hard the night before), and headed home so the boys could take naps.  I settled down to get some sewing done while Bill headed outside to finish up some yardwork. 

About an hour later, in a flash of stammering nakedness, my husband comes running up the stairs, stripped of all clothing, hollering that he’s about to puke.  Apparently, he hit a fresh pile of dog poo with the weed whacker, and it sprayed like….well…. sh*t hitting the fan. And, God bless him, he finished the job, covered in canine feces from head to toe.  This level of dedication to lawn and yard would surely put the Lawn Whisperer to shame.  Bravo, Bill.  I never laughed so hard in my life.  I’m sure you can read about the whole story in gory detail later this week on Poop & Boogies.

After the kids got up and Bill burned off his epidermis in the shower, I enjoyed a yummy dinner of chicken & bean burritos made for me by hubs.  Oh, and if you live on the East Coast, that tremor you may have felt around 6 pm was not seismic activity…. it was just a few too many beans in Bill’s burrito.  He’s ok, but I think I might have to call out a structural engineer… *just* to be safe….

 

Have a wonderful day.

16 Responses

  1. You are funny.

  2. You are, indeed, funny!

    I really thought you were going to say something else regarding the “shaking”, ahem.

    I love that playground! You guys are so lucky.

  3. Happy Mother’s Day to you! It sounds like you had a lovely day! 🙂

  4. Sounds like a wonderful Mother’s Day. Glad Bill could provide you with some entertainment in addition to the meals.

    Wish you could’ve been there Friday night–it would’ve been great to meet you! RE: Next Time. I don’t bowl either. But I’d be happy to walk around with a drink in my hand, talking with the people who do! 🙂

  5. Thanks for the laugh…and I think I need to go to this castle you speak of.

    One of the jobs I had in college was working at Discovery Zone…the place that was basically an HUGE indoor ball hop for kids. I got paid to play…the best was when I could climb all over the outside of the “Zone”. This castle looks like it is right up my alley!

  6. That castle playground is almost as big as the one in my backyard. NOT!

    I am totally coveting the coolness of your playground, and of you actually wanting to go there on Mother’s Day.
    The winner is….Gigglepotamus!

    Oh, and not so sure that after being covered in feces, that I would want to eat his cooking. But I do admire the fortitude it took to finish the lawn job! 😉

    Props to Sir William. 🙂

  7. I have never seen a playground SO HUGE!! Wow, I want to go there. It looks like I would have a lot of fun myself, hehe.

  8. That post ruined my mascara, but it was so worth it! Poor guy!

  9. Hehe that is hilarious. Hope Wyatt is feeling better and really wish we could have met you Friday, but there’s always next time! There was also mention of a family BBQ at our place after we sell the house but before we move.

  10. And I couldn’t figure out what shook my coffee cup off the desk. Now is all makes sense.

  11. You’re so funny. I doubt my husband would have finished the job if he was covered in dog feces.

  12. Wow! What a day!

    So Bill *lived* poop and boogies in the yard?

    You are very nice to take your kids, all three of them to that playground. It looks so fun!!

  13. It’s always nice to hear both sides of the story.

    Awesome play area, I wish we had one like that around here!

  14. Lauren,

    We went to the kid’s castle today. It was GREAT!!! I think Kevin & I had just as much fun as the kids. We were there for more than 2 hours & if our appetites didn’t make us leave, we could have been there all day! Thanks for the recommendation! We’ll be back there often, I’m sure!

  15. I love you.

  16. diz is kwelllllllllllllllllllll

Leave a Reply

