Lunch, anyone?

Finally, my lunchbox is completed for the swap I’m participating in.  I have to say, I followed Oh, Fransson’s! pattern fairly closely, and it came together pretty quickly (except for the hand-stitching of the lining…. painful!).  I’ve been saving this cherry blossom fabric for a long time, waiting for the perfect project to come along, and, well, I guess you don’t get much more perfect than a lunchbox, do ya?  My only regret is that I did not plan ahead enough as to where the best parts of the print would fall on the bag once it was completely assembled.  For that reason, almost all of the sweet little cherries are on the bottom!  Oh well, now I know for next time.

Anyway, I liked it so much, I already started one for my sister’s birthday (I don’t think she reads this, and, if I’m wrong, um… SURPRISE!).  I also think these would make perfect end-of-year gifts for Max’s pre-school teacher & assistant.  Actually, I can think of a lot of people I can make them for…hmm…. Bill, you take a lunch to work, right?  😉

I still have to make the placemat & a few little “goodies” to put inside, but I have until tomorrow to mail it & I don’t foresee any reason that it shouldn’t go out on time (knocking on wood!).  I’ll try to put up some pics of that stuff tomorrow before we go to post.  Here it is:

 

The top has a drawstring closure, which, fully extended, looks like this:

 

 

And the inside:

 

 

I didn’t use the iron-on vinyl that the pattern calls for, so it’s a softer bag & could probably use some scotch guard…  I hope my recipient likes it!!

 

10 Responses

  1. Okay, if Bill ever gets one of these to take to work I want pictures. That would be TOO funny to pass up.

    Other than that, it’s adorable, as usual.

  2. love it…and i like the way the branch comes down the side (although i also see what you mean about the cherries)…all in all, you did an excellent job…and the recipient will for sure love it!

  3. Lovely. The fabric is beautiful.

  4. That’s adorable! Wow… you are just so talented, Lauren.

  5. I love it! But what have you made that I haven’t loved, haha.

  6. If you make one for me can you make it with a more manly fabric like with Duckies and bunnies.

  7. William should have a superhero one…

  8. That is super cute!

  9. Hi! Normally I just peek in and lurk but today, I just HAVE TO comment. This is so cute! All the way down to the little box with fortune cookies! Now I can see myself making them for the mom’s in our playgroup. You are so talented, woman. I mean, from raising two boys, to home repair and sewing….you’re now my hero!!!

    You ALMOST want to make me put down my fishing pole and bring out my sewing machine again. I think I’m going to have to “MAKE” the time now. (I home school my oldest and no preschool for the younger one.) I need some ME time and sewing just “might” be the “answer”.

    Thanks for being an inspiration for me.

    xo
    bew

  10. I, too, am making this lunchbox. I agree about leaving off the vinyl. I am at a stumbling block, though. If you still have the directions, could you email me regarding the last instruction on page 7? I am confused as to where all the excess material has gone. On page 7, it is 20″ long and by page 9, it is about 6. But I do not see where it explains “sewing it all” together.
    Forgive me….this 50 something postmenapausal girl is loosing it!! LOL BTW, I love your color selection. I have some cherry fabric. Maybe I will add cherries instead of flower for embellishment. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

