Brain Pain

Has anyone caught that special they were running on PBS , the “Brain Fitness Program“?  I find myself completely fascinated by it.  I haven’t been able to catch the whole thing in it’s entirety, but it basically supports the whole “use it or lose it” theory.  They claim that as adults, we get to a certain level where we feel we have learned enough to get us through life, and we stop learning new things, and just apply the principles we’ve already mastered to get us by.  This, they claim, is the exact reason why the brain degenerates as we age, and we become more forgetful, our vocabulary decreases, etc.  They also claim that by continuing to learn new skills as an adult (like playing the piano, etc.) you can slow the brain’s degenerative process.   It is like a whole other universe within ourselves that is waiting to be discovered, and at this point, it seems we’ve only begun to tap into it’s amazing capacity. 

Also, about a year or so ago, there was a special on NOVA about string theory.   I can’t even begin to explain it (or understand it, really),  but, through quantum physics, it basically explains the possibility of other spatial dimensions (going on at the same time), and our minds’ power over the world around us.  These are scientists, not philosophers.  This stuff will make your brain hurt, but it’s exciting to think that there’s so much out there on which we’ve really just scratched the surface…. 

What’s exciting to me, is that in this ever-expanding universe, no matter how many discoveries we make, no matter how many technological advances are attained, there will always be more…. Whether we go to the far reaches of the universe, or within our own human bodies, we are truly only limited by our own imaginations.  Take another step back and I realize that in my own little world and day to day life, there are a million new experiences and discoveries to be made every day.  It’s as simple or as complicated as I want it to be. 

 I’ve pretty much been drawing, painting, or doing something else “creative” my whole life.  Over the years, so many people have said to me, “I’m just not creative like that”.  It doesn’t really matter if you can draw or paint, play an instrument, or write a novel.  We are all creators of our world, and we are therefore all creative.  Start up a converstation with someone, prepare a meal, play with your kids- you just changed the course of your day (and someone else’s).  It’s a beautiful thing.

Have a great day- go be creative (just don’t hurt yourself 🙂  )

6 Responses

  1. Hey Lauren,
    Our brains are certainly unique and complex things!
    I think our thoughts are what drives our lives so it is important to put good things in it to produce good things. It amazes me how people make comments about oh I can’t sew, where do you find the time – well I can’t garden and I don’t know where people find the time to do that. There are many aspects in creativity and it is important to let those “non creative minds” see creativity in thier lives – I am sure they are filled with creativity.

    Enjoy a creative and thought provoking week

    Sarah

  2. Sarah, I couldn’t agree more- I believe creativity is far more about having passion for something than it is actual talent.

    I also am a big believer in thoughts driving our lives, and how we perceive them. You reap what you sow, so make sure you’re putting good stuff out there!

  3. SHould I even comment about what I am thinking right now.:)

  4. Everyone is creative in their own way…it is sad how few realize it.

    Nice post.

  5. ok.. I’m laughing because I actually listened to that string theory program. Troy (my husband) was going through an Einstein-crush phase, and was reading books and netflix-ing all those quantum physics documentaries.

    I think he fell asleep about 15 minutes in, but I listened from the kitchen while I was baking. deep stuff, for sure.

    I’ll have to check into the brain fitness thing. it sounds neat.

  6. Thanks for discussing your views with us on the brain fitness training program. I want to share my experience with one brain training program, which I have been using since last couple of weeks. It is known as “Mind Sparke Fitness Pro”. I use it 30-40 minutes every day and I have noticed improvement in my concentration and my memorizing power.

    This software is built to stimulate the brain and to help it in expanding and it doesn’t take much time to train, 30-40 minutes per day is enough.

Leave a Reply

