Isn’t Pre-School great??

I used to be on the fence about pre-school.  After all, we’ve had to make a lot of sacrifices in order for me to be a stay at home mom,  it’s the main reason why we moved over 1,000 miles from everyone and everything we’ve ever known and loved.  I know I am still a fairly young parent, but I also am aware that these years go by so fast, and the day will come where I find myself missing this precious time we have at home together. 

I struggled for a while with whether it was right to push Max off into a program where he will learn things that I am not teaching him.  Where he will possibly pick up less than desirable habits from some of his peers.  And what if I’m just putting him in a program out of purely selfish reasons, just to have a few hours to myself a week?

I don’t think any of that anymore.

I felt that Max clearly showed signs he was ready for school long before I ever signed him up, I guess it was more me that wasn’t ready.  But let me tell you– there is nothing more rewarding than walking into a classroom, your child’s face beaming, and hearing, “MOMMY!!!!” and he immediately has to open up his school bag right there to show you everything he made that day.  There is nothing like walking into a classroom filled with “Chef Max’s” and “Chef Jacobs” all around the room.  There is nothing like having another mom say to you,  “My little boy talks about Max all the time & says he’s his best friend.  Can we get together for  a play date?”.

Nope, no regrets whatsoever.

9 Responses

  1. Except maybe a MLT.

  2. That is really great. We have been debating on whether or not to send our 3 1/2 year old to preschool in the fall. I am a stay at home mom as well, so finances are tight, it is tough to decide to pay money to send her away when I am home anyway. But you are right – I am sure that there are so many things for her to do and learn at preschool that she would not do here. Maybe, we’ll see. 🙂
    Looks like Max is enjoying it!

  3. I feel the exact same way. And I LOVE the “Mama!!!” greeting I get when I pick him up. And he’s always pulling things out of his bag as we walk out the door. LOVE preschool. LOVE it.

  4. I remember putting my oldest in preschool, because I had to work. I quit work when she started kindergarten and wanted to have another baby. Now that Kelsie is getting closer to preschool age, I don’t wanna send her! I have debated on homeschooling her, but I think it would be just me doing it selfishly because I don’t want to be away from her.

  5. Does Max yell Daddy when the UPS man comes to the door?

  6. Aww, what a cutie pie! What did Chef Max make at school? Chocolate pie??

  7. I’m very pleased with the preschools the little clowns have been in over the years.

    I remember picking up Punkin from preschool one day (long, long ago), and her little friend “C” stepping between she and me and announcing that they were married, and that I couldn’t take her home yet. Uh…

  8. I’ve been struggling with sending my son, Isaac, to preschool in the fall. He’ll be four in August, but is seems somewhat immature compared to his peers. I think it will be good for him, but reading your post made me feel much better for him. I’ve had some of the same thoughts that you had!

  9. It’s tough when you stay home, because you do feel like you should be doing everything since you’ve made that sacrifice to be there. But, I think if you’re getting the right school, it’s ok. The kids need to be out and around other kids before they get into “real” school so that they have that social experience.

Leave a Reply

