Inspired

Well, I have to be honest, today’s post could have just as easily been titled, “Uninspired”, since cupid has not infused me with any original ideas for showing my loved ones how much they mean to me.  I know, Valentine’s Day is a Hallmark holiday, a lot of people scoff at the idea that we pick one day to celebrate our love for someone, we should be doing it all along, blah, blah, blah.  I don’t disagree, I just normally like to play along. 

This year, I’m not sure what happened, but inspired is not the word.  So I thought I’d share last year’s slam dunk (at least I thought so) gift for my husband (this year, he’s getting a blender…. more on that in a future post).

Our eldest son, Maxfield’s name was inspired by one of our favorite artists, Maxfield Parrish.  Bill & I love his work, & I even used to work for PAFA, where Parrish received some of his formal art training.  Over the years, we have collected a print or two of his.  It’s something that we’ll hopefully build upon in the many years to come.  Last year, I’m not sure what made me even think to do this, but right around the big V-day, I did a search online for “Maxfield Parrish Valentine”, and found this:

  

Turns out, someone was selling a vintage magazine article which featured a personal Valentine that the artist had painted for his 18 year old daughter.  Score!  I bought it, framed it, & gave it to my hubs.  That’s it- I figure that one was pretty good, it should at least buy me a year or two of blenders & toaster ovens until I can think of something worthy again… right??

Consequently, if you haven’t already read Poop & Boogies today, you can check out what I received over there.

So, tonight we will feast on my second annual Valentine’s Day meal, one of Bill’s favorites:

Pot stickers patiently awaiting their fate

Pot stickers patiently awaiting their fate…

 

And who knows?  Maybe my man will make some decadent smoothies for dessert with his new blender. 

 

Have a great V-day, everyone. 

13 Responses

  1. Wow! I am a longtime fan of “poop and boogies.” I knew your one sons name was Maxfield. Which I thought was great because Maxfield Parish is one of my all time favorite illustrators. Now to find out that he was named after him is great. Bill reminds me of me.. .we are clumsy. .but we wear our heart on our sleeve. I love your blog as well. You people are a slice of reality pie.

  2. By the way, the pot stickers look great!

  3. Yes you definitely scored last year with the gift and that should buy you lots of time with the blenders and so forth. Those potstickers look good and TIME CONSUMING!

    Girl how do you do it with two boys – cause I gotta tell you… I’m impressed!

  4. I hope you only found one stud with your sensor……LOL too funny. I love that William made a card for you that is just too precious – no matter what he wrote!

  5. ohmygod. I actually read his site before I made my way over to yours and I laughed out loud at his post. You’ve got a pretty cool hubby!

    Your potstickers look yummo..

  6. I just found your site and I just have to say that I love all the things you make! I can’t wait to see all your goodies when you have them on Etsy!

  7. That was a perfect gift. I love when that happens almost serendipitously, like it was meant to be.

    Also, I adore potstickers! Will you be MY valentine?

  8. Potstickers…yummy! The stud finder…wow, some men. I sure hope he loved his blender, haha.

  9. I do not know what a potsticker is! sorry! Nice gift last year! Thank you for my Valentine present. It’s awesome! kep ’em guessing1

  10. Great gifts. I like the painting. And last time I tried potstickers, they did not look like yours!What is your secret? Can you post the recipe? Please???

    Michelle

  11. My husband gave me Guitar Hero III, but I actually really wanted it. 🙂

  12. ohh that was a killer find – the MP valentine!!!
    when i was with my exgf- we had planned to have children, and if we had a boy his name was going to be Maxfield ~ which is a family name of hers… i always loved that Your Max was a Maxfield… and then i noticed there is a MP print in the hallway i walk into every day for work. [dont ask which painting it is] but i always loved seeing the name for my future son in print :}

    that alien v-day was was too cute.
    you and bill are a ridiculously adorable and perfect-for-each-other couple!!!

  13. I hope your dinner was a hit. I love when perfect gifts come along.

Leave a Reply

