Crafty Kids Friday

Ok, I can’t make any guarantees, but one of my goals with this blog is to include a regular kids’/crafting entry….   I’ll try to keep the crafts easy enough for even the most creative-challenged, but interesting enough for adults to stay awake & engaged.

For now I’m just going to focus on some projects from around the internet that I’ve tried with my own kids.  Hopefully one day I will come up with some projects of my own, but for now, given the enormous black hole which is my brain, I’ll have to defer to other sources.

I hesitate to post what I’ve chosen for today, because we used this project for our parcel for our miniswap 3 partner, Sarah C.  We changed it up a little, though, so hopefully this will just serve as a little tease for her & her girls.  Ha! 

So let’s get started!  A few weeks ago I came across this tutorial over at not martha for how to make those snazzy marble magnets you see in all the coffee shops & trendy boutiques.  As it turns out, it’s a pretty good project for kidlets to at least help with, and it’s fun for the mommies and daddies, too.  

**  This project is best suited for kids aged 3+, due to the choking hazard of the marbles and magnets.  Magnets also pose another health risk if swallowed, so please just use good judgement and don’t take any chances! **

Here’s what you’re going to make, should you accept this mission:

 

Ok, so this isn’t the best picture to show you the potential of this project, but I have better ones- keep reading!

** Warning– this is totally addictive!  ** 

Here’s what you’ll need:

– Package of clear, flat, glass marbles, approx. 1/2″- 3/4″ (found in the floral dept. at Walmart or craft stores).

– Silicon sealer/adhesive –  I got a tube at Walmart in the adhesive section near the paint aisle.  I believe you can get this at the craft store also.

– 1/2″- 3/4″ magnet rounds (strong) found in the craft dept at Walmart or end cap at Michael’s- usually sold in packs of 50.

– Various small pictures cut from magazines, personal photos, clip art, you name it!  Just be careful of copyright issues if you ever intend to sell these. 

I won’t post pics of the entire process, since you can go to “Not Martha” for that, but basically, just squirt a little of the silicon on the back of the marble, place it on top of your picture, and press until the silicon spreads over the entire image.  Max really enjoyed this part- I squirted the glue, and he placed the marble on the picture & squished- so satisfying!  He also helped pick out the pictures we used.  I printed a bunch of pics of vintage trains, airplanes, and rabbits.  You can either cut your images out first & glue them to the backs of the marbles, or, as I prefer, glue them down to the whole sheet & cut after the silicon dries.   

Once the silicon is dry, just use it in the same fashion to attach the magnets to the backs of the marbles and you’re done!  We burned through our first 50 magnets in less than an hour- talk about instant gratification!  These look great & would make great gifts, too.

All in all, the entire project cost about  $11, and even though we ran out of magnets, we still have plenty of marbles, glue, & images to make about a bajillion more. 

Here are some tips/other ideas:

–  If you have a 1/2″ hole punch (for scrapbooking, etc.) it can reduce your cutting time.

–  If using clippings from magazines or thinner paper (like copy paper), glue an extra layer of white paper on the back of the image before adhering the magnet.  This prevents dark spots on your image. If you print images from your computer, photo paper works well.

–  You don’t have to make these into magnets- you can also attach them to hair clips, pins, paper clips, pushpins, etc….etc….etc….

–  You can put them in little altoid-type tins & give as gifts.

– I’ve heard of people making them as wedding favors, housewarming gifts, gifts for neighbors at Christmas.  And when you tell your recipient that you MADE it YOURSELF, they will be have no choice but to be impressed.

If you try this, let me know how it works out for you- I would love to see what you come up with!

Thanks for reading & happy crafting!

12 Responses

  1. I ate one of the magnets.

  2. This is a very cool idea. I don’t have kids but I’m willing to try this.

  3. What a cool idea! I am gonna do this with my 8 year old. We need to spruce up the front of the fridge. I am tired of looking at Leap Frog letters, lol.

  4. Awesome idea! I can’t wait to try it out!!!!! I’m thinking cool presents for grandparents!

  5. I LOVE this idea! You have to keep doing these entries. I’m a teacher, and I think my 4th grade class just may be doing these for Mother’s Day this year!

  6. Hahaha Payback!
    This is such a fabulousa idea. I am hoping the disclaimer will prevent Miranda from eating any like William did 🙂

    We will have to give this one a go!

  7. This sounds like a great idea. Very useful for recycling old magazine pictures, etc.. Waiting patiently for your next kids craft day post.

  8. Good Luck! Love this blog! Love it all! I I wish you well, Lauren. Love Mom

  9. Oh, geez. Don’t let William post an “after” pic, PLEASE. hee

    This is GREAT. I love the bunny ones. My tween daughter and her friends will spin this into jewelry, I’m pretty sure.

  10. Oh this is a great idea… especially for something to go with my sons valentine’s at school… I got some just like this for christmas (but they were bought at a hallmark store or something) and Liam loves to play with them… we’ll have to give this a try! Thanks!

  11. I love making marble magnets and pushpins, they are totally addictive!

  12. Thanks for the idea! I loved making the magnets, and my friends are all way impressed (since I am not a very crafty person to begin with). Here is some of my finished project – http://seejeanrun.com/?p=343

Leave a Reply

